I had the best days, with you :)

6 Aug

First, the song that’s been in my head as I’ve been thinking of the last ten-ish days…

The song is about her mom, but it’s a super cute song about her childhood, and she keeps repeating “I had the best days, with you.” I love it and I want to use it for a project for my momma for mother’s day one day. But it just generally makes me nostalgic for my childhood. So it also makes me think of my baby sister. 🙂

We have had SO MUCH FUN together! I am so glad I was able to take over a week and just hang out. No gigantic plans, just spending time together.

What did we do? Let’s see. We cooked together. We worked out together. We watched a lot of Olympics and viggled together. We each got sick (whyyyy does this always happen to us??) and took care of each other. We went to the outlet mall… twice! We shopped together. We did face masks together and tried new make up together. We found the Lexington public library and got books. We went to the movies. We went to the Kentucky Horse Park, and it was magically free on the day we decided to go and we got free hats! We went wine tasting together. We spent a bunch of time at the Whole Foods together, LOL! We had car rides and sing alongs and I got Alysha hooked on Jane by Design and we started a marathon.

I couldn’t ask for a better week. 🙂

We bumped heads a little too, and I was reflecting on that a bit this morning. I really think it has a lot to do with the fact that I am having trouble accepting that my baby sister is not my baby sister anymore. She is a smart, independent young lady who doesn’t really need her big sister the way she used to.

Is this how parents feel? heartwrenching. haha. But I can say I am super proud of the woman my sister has grown up into. 🙂 And I will ALWAYS call her my baby sister.

(And I’d like to take a little credit, too 😉 )

Anyway, it’s 9:17. I’m going to wake up the sleepy head and spend a few more hours with her before I head back to the Lou. 🙂

Leave a Reply

