Post-Bar Transiency

25 Jul

Transiency: n. The state or quality of being transient.
Transient: n. a person who is staying or working in a place for only a short time

So, the bar is over. It’s over, it’s done with. I either passed or I failed but it’s completely out of my hands at this point. My exam is off in the shadowy world of bar examiners, and in mid-September I will know if I managed to score enough points to call myself esquire.

So, worrying? No point. There is no point in worrying about things that you can not change. So, instead of worrying, I am going to enjoy this freedom.

I say freedom because, as my dear husband pointed out to me today, for the first time in my memory, I have no current obligations and no cloud of future obligations hanging over my head. I am completely free in this moment.

There are no summer assignments. no summer internships. no preparing for classes, no buying books. In my future is a hazy, indistinguishable, unknown blur. I can’t really embark on any undertakings until I know if I passed or not. I can’t plan, I can’t prepare.

So I am going to be transient for a little while. I am looking at August and September like two months to visit family and friends.

And I consider this period to start now. Even though I’m home at the moment. Because, a few minutes ago, I was not home. I was in transit from Jeff City to home. And I don’t intend to remain home for more than a day and a half.

What am I doing with my transiency? I am seeing the baby sister. I am seeing the big sister. I am seeing the parents and the friends back home. I am going back to see the baby sister for family weekend at EKU. I am going to Chicago with friends. I am camping. I am going to Lake of the Ozarks to stay in Jonathan’s company’s corporate condo.

I am doing many transient things. I will be here sometimes. I will be there sometimes. Who knows where I will be at other times.

Okay, so some of those transient plans are already planned for after I will know whether I passed or not, but after I know whether I passed or not, I only have two weekend trips planned, and other than that, I will be here. Figuring out my future.

But for now, the future is uncertain and so are my plans!

It’s freeing and terrifying and crazy and scary.

And sort of really cool that I get to go spend large chunks of time with my family during this transient time without worrying about days off or bosses or anything like that. I know that’s in my future somewhere 😉

Anyway, my first adventure begins Friday, and I will be headed to Lexington, Kentucky to see Alysha! AND I CAN’T WAIT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

