Tour De Donut

14 Jul

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures, but today’s work out was in the form of a bike race! The Tour De Donut is put on by the Boeing Employee Bicycle Club and is a 34 mile race with donut stops in Staunton, IL. (http://www.bebikeclub.com/tourdedonut/)

This is the first time I’ve been on a bike since Jonathan and I biked in France and since breaking my toe. So I was a little worried.. but apparently for nothing! The race was tons and tons of fun! We biked 34 miles and kept a nice average speed of between 12 and 12.5 mph (depends on whose bicycle computer you believe!)

Anyway, the official results aren’t posted yet, but I’ll post them when they are. At the Tour De Donut, you get five minutes taken off of your total time for every donut eaten. I ate a meager two donuts, Jonathan ate four. Apparently, when he did this race in ’09 he ate NINE donuts… holy moly! He is saying he wanted a tenth donut but they ran out. Geez! Two was enough for me!

This race is incredibly well organized and the sense of community out in Staunton and with all of the volunteers is awesome. At every turn, there are volunteers cheering you on and ringing bells. Along the stretches, tons of local people set up lawn chairs to watch the bikers and cheer. At one point, I was struggling up this hill, and some of the bikers who had dismounted and were walking started encouraging me to keep pedaling and told me I was doing a great job. It just felt really great to be out there biking with such a friendly and cheerful group of over 1600 people!

I would definitely do this race again, and the free tshirts are just a bonus. Maybe I’ll take a picture in the shirt tomorrow to make this post more exciting. 🙂

Now, back to learning about real property… way less exciting for sure!

One Response to “Tour De Donut”

  1. Shannon July 15, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Just briefly stopping in to say I’ve been reading your latest entries and I wish you the best on your exams. We’ll have to get together again some time but I know we both have fairly busy schedules.

Leave a Reply

