Lack of Writing Inspiration & Reading/TV Poll

17 Jan

I feel like I was doing great on this writing everyday thing until school started up again. It just drains me of all of my energy, and I feel completely uninspired. plus, the number of great phone photos has decreased exponentially.

I had a great night out with gal-pals last night for my friend’s birthday! Hopefully some of the pics taken will show up on facebook soon, and then I’ll write a post about it. But I’d prefer to save that for when I have some pictures.

Since I am really uninspired, I am going to pose a question to anyone who reads:

1. What are you reading right now? And by right now, I mean in general, not necessarily right this second. If you aren’t a big book reader, feel free to share a blog or website that you like to read! I’d love some new ideas of what to read.

2. Alternatively, if you’re not a big book reader, what are you watching on TV lately that you like?

 

And since I asked, I guess I will answer my own questions. I don’t get to read a lot while I am in school, but I am working (very very slowly) on a trilogy by Francine Rivers called Mark of the Lion. I’ll let you know how it is.

As for TV, I recently picked up a show called Switched at Birth which is on the ABC Family channel. Go ahead, laugh at me. But I am really enjoying it and how it is actually teaching me something about a group of people I know nothing about… the deaf community.

I also have been really digging Hart of Dixie starring Rachel Bilson (who is best known for her role as Summer Roberts on The O.C.). It is hilarious and awesome. I highly recommend it.

Okay… your turn!

4 Responses to “Lack of Writing Inspiration & Reading/TV Poll”

  1. Shannon January 18, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Blogs? I pretty much only read “Ask a Korean” on a regular basis, because I love hearing his insights.

    Books? I’ve been reading this trilogy by Jan Siegel. It’s a young adult fantasy book with magic and a heroine. Then I started reading Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John le Carre. And books I always go back to are Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami and The Godfather by Mario Puzo.

    Tv shows- oh man this season has been good with dramas. I tried to get into Hart of Dixie but it’s just not on a convenient time for me. I watch Revenge, PanAm, and Once Upon a Time on ABC and then Big Bang Theory on CBS. I’ll catch Suburgatory and Modern Family occasionally.

  2. hilary January 18, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Well in my spare time I mostly read things that require little thought and are mostly pure entertainment. I’m all fantasy/sci-fi and not usually anything big like Game of Thrones (though I have thought about taking that on recently).

    So anyway, the last book I read was “A Touch of Power”. It was good, and simple. Easy read.

    I have heard so many good things about “The Help” though that I might just have to pick it up….

  3. Benazeer January 19, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    1. I’ve been reading (when I’m not buried in papers for my thesis, sigh) the Edge series by Ilona Andrews. It’s really awesome magic/fantasy/romance but doesn’t star nobles or kings or whatever cliched thing these sorts of books usually star. Also the heroines are all really kickass awesome women who don’t take shit from anyone.

    2. I’ve been watching Person of Interest, Prime Suspect, Grimm, Fringe, and Leverage. And the Justified season just started \o/. I kind of like police/mystery shows *g*

  4. laurel alexander January 19, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    oddly enough i’m actually not reading any books right now.
    tv shows…too many. i too watch switched at birth, um, grey’s, private practice, glee, parenthood, the bachelor…again, too many!

Leave a Reply

