‘Tis Exam Season

15 Dec

Let me tell you a little bit about the typical law school course.

You do insane amounts of reading stuff that seems pretty pointless everyday all semester.

In class, your classmates posit strange theories and opinions which may or may not be accurate or relevant and the professor does a poor job of highlighting actual information/laws/relevant items.

At the end of the semester, you have two weeks to take your exams, and exams are self-scheduled. Except certain days/times (always the ones that are most convenient to me) are blacked out for some reason.

Your entire grade is based on a 3-4 hour exam where an insane hypothetical is described and you try to find and assess all the issues, and write it better than all of your peers.

Then you get a grade, and usually little to no feedback on why you got the grade you got.

 

That’s the typical structure of law school. It’s stressful by design, and intended more to weed out the faint of heart than to actually assess skills (in my opinion).

 

This semester, I had a few MBA courses, which somewhat alleviates the stress of exam season… oh.. except for my PMBA accounting class in which in the last two weeks we have had a group presentation, a group paper, and a take home exam. Thanks a lot.

To top that off, I had a 90-question multiple choice exam (3 hour in school) in which I was missing question 90 and student services hasn’t gotten back to me on what they decided to do about that, a typical law school exam as described above (3-hour in school), and a 12-page take home. So not your typical law school exam season.

I usually have four in-school exams. I usually take them W, F of week 1 and T, Th of week two. I have a neat system to survive.

This season the types and schedules of my exams have thrown me off completely and I have completely mismanaged my time.  It is Wednesday of week two. I still have the three hour essay-style exam (last chance to take it is 9 am on Friday), the 12-page take home (Due by 8 am on Friday), and the accounting take home (due by midnight sunday, but we leave town Sat morning, so I’ll just say I have to be done with it by then.

So what the heck have I done with my time??? Floundered. There is no other explanation.

 

And what am I doing now? Blogging instead of studying.

 

Oh. and I tried to study hard this morning. I really did. But while watching the video of the review ( which I missed while taking the CFA in Chicago),  I fell asleep at my desk!!!  I woke up curled up comfortably under my desk, and, having dreamt that I studied really hard, I woke up pumped to ace my exam!  Only to realize that two hours had just been wasted and that I was actually more tired than when I had started studying.

 

life of a grad student, wtf.

2 Responses to “‘Tis Exam Season”

  1. msalib December 15, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    I tried to study hard this morning. I really did. But while watching the video of the review ( which I missed while taking the CFA in Chicago), I fell asleep at my desk!!!

    Must be genetic because I’ve watched a certain sister do that exact same thing. On multiple occasions. In the last month.

    Best of luck though!

Leave a Reply

