Sasha’s Tips

12 Dec

I have beauty tips and I have weight loss tips for you today! Pictures of holiday crafts and deocrations are forthcoming (as soon as I take pictures and get them on my camera.

 

So until then, the first ever installation of Sasha’s Tips.

 

Sasha’s tips for static-y hair or dresses!

1. Dryer sheets. If you have static-y hair in the winter (I sure do!) keep a few dryer sheets in your pocket. One swipe over your hair and it will settle way down!  This also works when you’re wearing a dress or skirt with tights. I frequently have the problem where I wear a wool pea coat, and when I take my coat off, my skirt sticks to my stockings. The dryer sheet works in this situation too!

2. Hair spray. Spray a generous amount of hair spray onto your brush and run through your hair before leaving for the day. This helps keep your hair for static-ing up during the day. You can also spray your stockings with hair spray before you leave. I don’t like this method nearly as much as the dryer sheets, but I have done it when I’ve run out of dryer sheets, and it also works!

 

 

Sasha’s Tips for Surviving Holiday Parties:

1. Decide up front that you are having no more than one of whatever your vice is (drinks, desserts, chips.)  Tell someone your decision (a close friend, significant other, your mom, whatever!) so that you have accountability.

2. This is my frequent method of avoiding holiday party over eating. I plan a delicious meal for myself for when I get home, and then decide I can have one or two small snack-type things, and picture my delicious meal waiting for me. Or, if the party is going to run late, I eat before I go, and then make sure I tell people, “Oh I already ate” so if they see me shoveling food into my face, I feel really awkward.

3. If its a party or event with people you’re close to, just bring something for yourself. If you bring it yourself, you know what’s in it. Sometimes I just make sure I bring a piece or fruit or a salad, and then help myself to a few things that the hostess is particularly proud of.  Or, conversely, ask the hostess if you can bring something to contribute to the party. Then make sure your dish is something you like and something healthy, and help yourself to it!

4. Don’t go!  If you can’t control yourself, just don’t go.

5. Extreme work outs before or after the gathering. If I know I’m hitting the gym right after an outing, I won’t over eat because that makes working out really uncomfortable.

One Response to “Sasha’s Tips”

  1. Shannon December 13, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    Another thing I like to do is bake small bite size cookies. People are more likely to grab them if they are small, they feel less guilty. I think you’ve seen the pictures of my dinosaur cookies and the thumbprint cookies are small sized.

    I may not comment on every entry, but they all get sent to my email, so I do read.

    Glad you got my Christmas card!

Leave a Reply

