Turkey Day… is on it’s way!

18 Nov

Holidays have become more and more anticlimactic for me. Thanksgiving is a time of intense studying.. or complete procrastination and irresponsible decision making ( ..like.. I don’t know… going to Sweden for Thanksgiving to see my little sister.)

 

Yeah. Last year was awesome and I got to see my sister! But on the other hand, I was soooooo behind when it came to school work. So this year, I’m studying.

 

But, I still love thinking about holidays and festivities. so bring me some Thanksgiving cheer and tell me about a favorite dish, tradition, or something weird/interesting/cool your family does to celebrate! Bonus points if you have a recipe to share! 

 

As for me, my family is a bit quirky. My sisters have both been on and off vegetarians(though never at the same time!), so one year we made a Tofurkey… that was a disaster! And actually, my older sister hasn’t been home for Thanksgiving since before I graduated undergrad. Since I went to grad school, neither have I and now that I’m realizing that, it makes me kind of sad.

But usually we just have the standard: turkey, gravy, cranberry sauce, stuffing, corn bread, and rolls.

As a kid, I used to love getting up and watching the Macy’s Day parade, but it’s been a long time since I’ve done that.

I guess the one thing we always do  is black Friday shopping. Some of my favorite memories with my family come from standing in the freezing cold at 3 am just to buy something silly like movies or headphones. So much fun! When’s the last time I did that?  Three years ago I made Jonathan go with me… (we spent Thanksgiving in Oklahoma that first year (and I spent a lot of time in our room studying), here in St. Louis for studying my second year, and I spent it in Sweden with my sister our third year. I’d go home this year, but I know if I’m around my family, I won’t want to study at all!) Maybe next year I’ll have to make sure I spend Thanksgiving with my family so that we can go black Friday shopping and round it off with some IHOP pancakes!

2 Responses to “Turkey Day… is on it’s way!”

  1. Benazeer November 19, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I actually haven’t been home for thanksgiving since I was in high school, I think, and hopefully now that you are super busy you understand why: super expensive tickets, lots of time waiting in crowded airports for a ridiculously short visit, and always a crapton of work to do over break.

    • sasharoundtheclock November 22, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      Yeah agreed! I do miss black friday, though… :/ the freezing. the mad crowds. the ihop. haha. hey, atleast if i dont go home, i wont blow my diet!!!!!

Leave a Reply

