Regional/Seasonal Sodas

3 Nov

I have this tendency to fall in love with soft drinks that are sold regionally or seasonally or just do not last.

This started when I was kid, and my mom bought a bottle of Crystal Pepsi. Here’s a commercial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tign09D5IgE

Now, do not ask me why I liked it so much. We didn’t drink soda at home often, so I didn’t have much to compare it to. But I loved it. And then it went off the market.

I also loved Barq’s Red Cream Soda… which I randomly find in random little restaurants on fountain, but can almost never find in store.

When I was 13, we went to Pakistan and I got to taste Pakola, which I can sometimes find in Indian grocery stores.

And of course, going to USC (south carolina.. in case you thought for a second that I would ever live in California.. hah)  I became familiar with Cheerwine.. a delicious cherry flavored soft drink.

I also enjoy the cranberry flavors that come out around Christmas.

Anyway, there isn’t much point to this post except since I love things I can never find, I frequently have cravings for things that I can not get.

Unless I post about it on facebook and someone who loves me sees that post and send me 22 lbs of cheerwine via UPS. (Yes. This is a true story. It was like a magic fairy appeared and granted my wish! And by magic fairy, I mean older sister.)

 

Thanks, Saira! 🙂

 

Anyone else have something that’s hard to find that they love?

 

 

2 Responses to “Regional/Seasonal Sodas”

  1. Shannon November 4, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    I love taylor ham which is very much a New Jersey thing. And for a while, you couldn’t get sweet tea vodka in New Jersey.

    I’m sure there’s a million things, but I can’t think of anything else now.

    • sasharoundtheclock November 4, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      Yes.. sweet tea!! I know you said vodka, but sweet tea in general!! When I first moved back from SC to OH, I’d order iced tea.. and it would come out unsweetened… I was like.. whaaaat?? What is this gross stuff??

      HAHA!

      I remember your Taylor Ham thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

