Childhood memories

9 Dec

So we’re going to an international holiday party Friday evening and I was trying to decide what I was going to make for it. I recalled a German dish my mom used to make for us when we were little, so I texted my mom and asked if she could send me her recipe.

The item is called Spaetzle and is a very basic egg pasta/dough that is traditionally boiled and then sauteed in butter/onions or topped with some gravy. (You can also fry it and then sprinkle a little powdered sugar on it….similar to funnel cake)

Other than being kind of a pain to get into the water (remembering how easy the gadget my parents own makes it) they came out just how I remember them.
I pan fried a large steak and then made a gravy with the fond, some caramelized onions, sherry/water, and cornstarch….I simmered the steak in it for a few minutes to help tenderize it and then we poured the gravy over it and the spaetzle.
It came out quite good and I actually had everything I needed for it, hehehe.

Yay for childhood memories turning into a simple yet yummy dinner!!

One Response to “Childhood memories”

  1. the knitster December 11, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    mmm…i love spaetzle and order it whenever possible!

Leave a Reply

